Most World Cup winners | List of all winners PROVIDED


The World Cup is an international football tournament played every four years by countries who are members of the FIFA body. The competition have existed since 1930 and there have been a lot of countries who have participated in it. 

Do you want to know more about the World Cup winners? everything will be explained in bits here including the List of the most World Cup winners.

Table of Contents


The World Cup is an international football competition the body governing this competition is known as FIFA. The competition was established in 1930. All the men's national team who are members of the FIFA are allowed to contest in the competition. 

Since the establishment in 1930s the tournament is played every four years except in 1942 and 1946, and that was due to the II World war. The recent World Cup winners are France in 2018, that year's World Cup was hosted by Russia.

The World Cup has witness 21 World Cup tournament so far which 79 nations have featured in it at least once. Out of that figure about 13 of those countries have made their way to the final and 8 nations have successfuly won the cup.


Most World Cup winners.


Brazil so far is the most successful country when it comes to the World Cup competition winning the trophy 5 times, followed by Italy and Germany who both have won 4 titles each.

France, Uruguay and Argentina all have 2 titles each and both Spain and England have one each.

All time list of the most World Cup winners

Country Year
Brazil 5 titles (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)
Germany 4 titles (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014)    
Italy 4 titles (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006)
France 2 titles (1998, 2018)
Uruguay 2 titles (1930, 1950)
Argentina 2 titles (1978, 1986)
England 1 title (1966)
Spain 1 title (2010)

Brazil Germany and Italy are the big boys here. The three countries are the top countries who have won the most World Cup having a total of 13 titles all together.

1. Brazil - 5 titles

Earlier in those years Brazil got some splendid players infact, talented players and this led to their victories in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002 beating Sweden, Czechoslovakia, Italy twice, Germany in all their final to claim the titles.

2. Germany - 4 titles

The second most decorated country in the World Cup together with Italy, needed to defeat Argentina twice Netherlands and Hungary to claim the four titles. 

The first was in 1954 against Hungary second was in 1974 against Netherlands, the third was against Argentina in 1990 and lastly the fourth was against Argentina in 2014. Germany triumphed in all these years and claimed the titles.

3. Italy - 4 titles

Italy just like Germany how far World Cup titles have you won it twice consecutively in 1934 and 1938 before their later triumph in 1982 and 2006. In 1934 he had to beat Czechoslovakia to claim their first ever World Cup title. 

Just four years later they defeated Hungary 4 goals to 2 with Gion Colaussi and Silvio Piolo both getting a brace age for Italy. Now in 1982 they are up against West Germany whom they defeated 3-1 to claim their third title. Their latest trophy came in, in the 2000s specifically 2006. 

Italy won the game on penalty against France.

4. France - 2 titles

France won their 2 World Cup titles about 20 years apart winning their first in 1998 and last in 2018. They had to beat Brazil and Croatia to claim the honour.

5. Uruguay - 2 titles

We can say Uruguay are the first to win the World Cup, there first title was in 1930 and they had victory over Argentina. Exactly 20 years later 1950, they were up against Brazil, Uruguay 2-1 win secured the two cup for the country.

6. Argentina - 2 titles

Argentina are also part of the countries who have won the World Cup twice. Their 3-1 win over Netherlands ensured they win their first title since the World Cup was established in 1930. In 1986 Argentina defeated West Germany 3 goals to 2 goals in a very interesting final.

7. England - 1 title

England won their one and only world cup title in 1966 winning 42 against West Germany.

8. Spain - 1 title

Spain in 2010 won their first and only world cup title against Netherlands. It was Andres iniesta's goal that decided the match at extra time.


Related question about World Cup winners

Who was the first country to win the World Cup?

Uruguay won the inaugural World Cup after defeating Argentina four goals to two goals in the presence of over 68,000 fans.

Country with the most World Cup?

Winning the final in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002 Brazil is a country with the most World Cup title.

Player with the most world cup title?

Pele is the only player who have won the World Cup three times and he is the player with the most world cup title. He actually won the first World Cup for Brazil when he was 17.

Which country has the most appearance in the World Cup tournament? 

Brazil is the only country to appear in all 21 tournament of the World Cup so far.

Which country has appeared most in the world cup final?

Germany and actually the one in this position. they have been to World Cup finals eight times and the won 4 out of it.

Which country has lost the World Cup final the most times?

The answer here is Germany they have been to the world cup final in a total of eight times winning four titles and losing in four different occasions.

... ...


The World Cup is the tournament competition that brings the whole world together it was established in 1930. And since then it has been played every 4 years except in 1942 and 1946 because of the World war II the competition was not conducted. 

We just concluded the article on most World Cup finals thanks for reading this content.


Opeyemi Odenusi

Hi, I'm Opeyemi, a fitness pro and a sport reseacher. I'm here to enlighten and share with you tips and hacks on how to improve your fitness and wellness and also to provide for you relevant informations on sport with a touch of fitness activities that can improve your well-being.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post